PDA

View Full Version : Help please!

84ranger
08-25-2008, 08:24 PM
Ok I'm a newb. I keep getting this guy coming to my job trying to put together his own kit. I think he's crazy but this does look plausable. My truck is a 1984 Ford Ranger with the 2.8l carburated v6 and around 265k miles. It sat for 3 years and barely ran, I got my hands on it and it got 8mpg, after I tinkered with it, it now gets around 15mpg. I'd like more but the engine has seen better days, before I rip it out and replace it I'd like to see what I can get out of it. Everything seems simple enough I mean making the bubbler and generator is cake work but what I don't get is how do you control delivery? You know get the right amount/mixture. AFR. I've got a lot of automotive knowledge and I think I'm just over-thinking this. How do you keep it from going too "rich/lean" and I know you have to play with the timing. Do you need to play with spark plug heat ranges too? Like I said it's on it's last leg but I don't want to blow it to hell quite yet. Pretty much I want to know how do I go about setting it up once I build and install everything.(I'm too cheap to buy an actual kit)

Mindcrime13
08-26-2008, 04:37 PM
hello!

well i would suggest you seafom the egine, and ran some gas tank cleaners, change spark plugs, oil, trans oil, and coolant,

clean very well the engine, and then mess with the hho!

good luck

84ranger
08-28-2008, 08:30 PM
That all has been done. Any answers to my actual Q's?

VanHalen
08-28-2008, 08:58 PM