PDA

View Full Version : Pos. or Neg. ?

GOplayer
09-10-2008, 09:32 AM
Basic electrical question:
The anode or the cathode should be bigger when SS wires are used in spiral configuration to make an electrolyzer (AKA: HOD GEN)?
My “user manual” for the HOD Gen kit I purchased called for the positive to be the thicker wire while the negative the thinner. Then an “expert” told me that I got it backwards. Since I am not an expert, perhaps someone out there could point me to a resource that could conclusively show me which wire should be the positive hock up and then I can figure out where to hock up the thinner wire to ;-)
Thanks Z

gizzy
09-10-2008, 09:47 AM
In one of these forums here there is a section I think it was under electrolites. They explained everything on how it all works. The ideas and professional explinations for every thing here seems to be a life long education.

bigapple
09-10-2008, 09:48 AM
Basic electrical question:
The anode or the cathode should be bigger when SS wires are used in spiral configuration to make an electrolyzer (AKA: HOD GEN)?
My “user manual” for the HOD Gen kit I purchased called for the positive to be the thicker wire while the negative the thinner. Then an “expert” told me that I got it backwards. Since I am not an expert, perhaps someone out there could point me to a resource that could conclusively show me which wire should be the positive hock up and then I can figure out where to hock up the thinner wire to ;-)
Thanks Z

its really not as important as they make it seem. u can only make oxygen in proportion to hydrogen, which in this case is a 1 to 2 ratio. i think they stressed that since oxygen is a bigger atom than hydrogen atom (8 vs 1) but overall not a big deal. u mite want to have ur better material, say a 316 grade vs a 304 grade, be the positive since oxygen is more susceptible to reacting with the water and slowly degrading ur plates or wires (which wont happen as fast if u use a good electrolyte)