PDA

View Full Version : drawing 15 amps-Blowing 30 amp fuse

dlynds
10-08-2008, 06:57 PM
I am mystified. I have a 4 cell config. drawing a total of 15 amps. Vehicle is a 2007 malibu V6. Idling cold, the units draw 15 amps, but after about 3-5 minutes, the amps spike and blow a 30 amp fuse or trip my 30 amp circuit breaker.
There are no shorts, and I have measured the draw at the circuit breaker (both sides), the relay, and at the electrolyzers.
I just upgraded my battery to a 775 amp hr from a 575.
I somehow think that I am getting a spike when the alternator kicks in, but I am not an electrician.
My wiring is 10 gauge awg.
Without a fuse or circuit breaker, I can run the unit for an hour without a problem and the amp draw creeps up to about 25 amps.
Any input on this problem would be greatly appreciated.

Painless
10-08-2008, 07:04 PM
Have you attached an ammeter to determine if the amps are actually spiking that high when this happens? If so, what do you see? A sudden spike or a slow rise to that ampage?

JonDoh
10-09-2008, 06:28 AM
a plate may be making contact with one another because of the gap distance. That's what was my experience.

dlynds
10-09-2008, 06:52 AM
The ammeter spikes hard right, then the fuse blows. I tried each cell individually, and no problem. I also hooked up to my wifes car, and no problem.

ridelong
10-09-2008, 10:36 AM
dlynds,

You might have a voltage regulator going bad.

Use a voltmeter to measure the voltage across the generator. If it goes much above 14.2 volts, the voltage regulator is probably going bad.

JonDoh
10-09-2008, 12:23 PM
awww... you have a 4 cell.... what's your config??

Are there any neutral plates?

DaneDHorstead
10-09-2008, 02:27 PM
Is it mummy wrapped?

Many people tend to use vinyl streatch wrap, or electrical tape to mummy wrap.

Vinyl shrinks dramaticly, when heat is applied, which can pull plate edges together, shorting cells.

solo33
10-10-2008, 07:20 AM
Hi dlynds,