PDA

View Full Version : Potassium for water softeners?

cjwatts77
10-10-2008, 01:24 PM
I am new to all this. I found potassium for water softeners at the hardware store. Is this an option? I have heard that potassium makes a good electrolyte. I just do not want to use anything toxic...

Thanks for any help

weose33
12-16-2008, 12:45 PM
New activities allow salsa recreation and an 1800s comedienne."We've made a factual, willful activity this assemblage to enhance the wonderful local coh influence (http://www.ugamegold.com/city-of-heroes-influence/) performers we oftentimes screw with many majuscule temporary performers from City, Indianapolis and St. Gladiator," said Christina Steelman, administrator administrator of the Springfield Extent Arts Council.

coffeeachiever
12-17-2008, 02:06 AM
WTF is that last post?
Anyway, I've never heard of anyone using K as an electrolyte, but that doesn't mean it's not viable. Chemistry is not my strong point so I can't tell you what the electrolosis process will do to it. That is the first thing you will want to find out.
The reason that NaOH and KOH are used is because they are true catalysts that are not used up in the electrolosis process (when the electrolosis is done in a desirable way). They also work great in increasing the conductivity of water. If you find that K has the same properties, please let us know. Good question.

Q-Hack!
12-17-2008, 06:02 AM
Water softeners generally use Potassium Chloride. I suspect you will get a similar result like using NaCl. One of the by-products of salt is that it produces Chlorine gas.

Pure potassium would be an interesting, if not entertaining choice as an electrolyte :eek: Just be sure to stand way back when you decide to drop it into the water.

cully
12-17-2008, 12:03 PM
its been a long time since i went to school but i did do chemistry
Ive forgotten more than i remember but........

doesn't pure Potassium burn/explode on contact with water

coffeeachiever
12-17-2008, 03:19 PM