PDA

View Full Version : Vac line hook up.. Help

thebargew
07-01-2008, 03:34 PM
I am going to run my system in my 04 4Runner it has a perfect vac line right at the top of the intake plenum but it is after the throttle plate.
I have read in other on some of the sites that you should have it before the the throttle plate. What's the best way to hook it up?

Stratous
07-01-2008, 07:00 PM
I am no expert on this, but I believe the reason is the amount of vaccume you get after the throttle plate. Most containers cant handle 20psi of vaccume. I could be wrong on this as I drive a diesel and dont have to worry about vaccume.

thebargew
07-01-2008, 08:16 PM
I am no expert on this, but I believe the reason is the amount of vaccume you get after the throttle plate. Most containers cant handle 20psi of vaccume. I could be wrong on this as I drive a diesel and dont have to worry about vaccume.

Well I wasnt sure that with the line before the throttle plate as you open it it will draw in the oxy and hydro as needed. If I out it after would there be any regulation to the amount I am drawing?

Stratous
07-01-2008, 10:50 PM
You may be correct, on the throttle plate controlling demand. Honestly though, if your container is plastice or not really strong then lower vaccume is better. 20psi may implode a weak container.

timetowinarace
07-01-2008, 11:55 PM
Well I wasnt sure that with the line before the throttle plate as you open it it will draw in the oxy and hydro as needed. If I out it after would there be any regulation to the amount I am drawing?

If a vacuum is used after the throttle plate there will be more vacuum pressure when the plate is closed. As in, more hho will be drawn into the engine while at idle and less when accelerating. Vacuum leaks are often the reason for poor/fast idle because extra air is going in.

EltonBrandd
07-02-2008, 02:05 AM