PDA

View Full Version : Help with Optimum Electrode

Chimeraone
07-05-2008, 02:59 PM
I am a new member to this forum. My background is in mechanical and electronic engineering as well as industrial design. I put myself through college by working in a Tool and Die shop and I stayed current in all the Manufacturing techniques. I retired early from Corporate America to start a one person Audio Business. http://www.chimeralabs.com/

I have vendors that provide CNC, Water Jet, Laser Cut and Fabricated parts for my products at very reasonable prices. My hobby is restoring old cars and motorcycles. I have three SAAB 96 cars that provide 36 to 45 mpg and I am interested in converting one of them to an HHO system.

I have read a lot of the postings but I am far from an expert on optimizing HHO performance. I am interested in receiving feedback to determine the best way to increase the mileage in my vehicles.

I am staring my analysis with determining the ideal electrodes. I hope other forum members could share their expertise. I am not interested in marketing HHO parts or systems and I would be happy to make the parts available to anyone who wants to use them. I like to start with a blank sheet of paper and detemine the Optimum Elements regardless of cost, then figure out ways to make them affordable. I have broken down the electrode analysis to Material, Shape, Size, Finish, Stack Configuration and Electrical Connections. I thought I would start with Material and Shape to begin with.

Electrodes - Optimum based on Efficiency, Cost, Life Span and Ease of Assembly

Material – Stainless Steel seems to be preferred with 304 used but 316 preferred due to a higher Nickel content but costs are prohibitive?

Good List of various Stainless Types. Note 200 which is 100% Nickel
http://www.mechanicalmetals.com/stainlesssteel_alloyspecs.html

Option ? Have 304 Nickel Plated http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Electroless_nickel_plating

Would Nickel Plating increase HHO output?