PDA

View Full Version : Making my cell, Need help



godfish
04-06-2009, 01:12 AM
:confused: I have made one cell so far, its a 6 -+-+-+ using homedepo wall plates powered by a computer PSU at 12volts. and its not the greatest in HHO production. I want to make one so I can try and build a home heating unit. I'm a HVAC&R tech that got layoff and I have time on my hands, so cost is a big issue. I ordered parts to make a -NNNN+ 6 cell :confused: Is this kind of cell going to work well enough? or will I need more plates?

If I get a little furnace working I'm willing to share all my work with the group. And Yes I saw the other posts about the Home Heating Unit "HHOHHU" but buying plans for something that I can't see first is just stupid in my thinking.

Also has anyone seen the website http://uawinfo.com he's got some cool stuff there, his flashback device, looks cool.

velorossa22
04-06-2009, 02:31 AM
Where in Oregon are you? I used to live in Eugene, just moved to washington b/c of lack of work in oregon.
What voltage were you planning on running to the when you hook it up to the furnace? Remember that 2v per plate is about optimum so shoot for that. Don't use AC voltage it won't work correctly. Are you using a wet cell or a dry cell?
I use 1/2 acrylic that are scrap pieces from a plastic supply place. I also get stainless steel from local steel yards. It ends up being cheaper in the long run to make the plates yourself. I use a high speed cutter to cut out the plates and a jigsaw with a wood blade to cut the plastic. It's pretty cheap to make it that way.
What kind of furnace will you be hooking up to? I have an old oil furnace at my house but I'm too scared to put hho to it.

mytoyotasucks
04-06-2009, 09:39 PM
:confused: I ordered parts to make a -NNNN+ 6 cell :confused: Is this kind of cell going to work well enough? or will I need more plates?



wont be perfect but have to start somewhere, and are u preping ur plates????????????????????

godfish
04-07-2009, 12:44 AM
Where in Oregon are you? I used to live in Eugene, just moved to washington b/c of lack of work in oregon.
What voltage were you planning on running to the when you hook it up to the furnace? Remember that 2v per plate is about optimum so shoot for that. Don't use AC voltage it won't work correctly. Are you using a wet cell or a dry cell?
I use 1/2 acrylic that are scrap pieces from a plastic supply place. I also get stainless steel from local steel yards. It ends up being cheaper in the long run to make the plates yourself. I use a high speed cutter to cut out the plates and a jigsaw with a wood blade to cut the plastic. It's pretty cheap to make it that way.
What kind of furnace will you be hooking up to? I have an old oil furnace at my house but I'm too scared to put hho to it.

I live in Cottage Grove and I worked in Eugene with Harvey and Price, all the work has really slowed down and I'm waiting for it to pick up.

I'm using 12volts DC from the computer power supplys, I'm going to make a furnace with a heat exchanger I'll also make. I want to use wet cells In ABS or PVC plastic 4".

My house only has a wood stove, so a HHO furnace would save me money. It's running about 1K for a winter of wood, or about $800 for electric heat.

The first cell I made works but not good enough to supply a steady stream of HHO gas for a flame. If I could just get a flame to stay on instead of POPing I can get some heat going. I know this will work, all I need is to make enough HHO to burn.

Any and all help will be greatly appreciated..

godfish
04-07-2009, 12:48 AM
wont be perfect but have to start somewhere, and are u preping ur plates????????????????????

No I didn't do that on the first one, but I will on the next,;) I'm just waiting for my parts to get here.:confused: Have you or anyone made a small torch flame HHO powered? because that is what I'm shooting for and then I hope to increase the output for a larger flame.:D

godfish
04-11-2009, 04:02 AM
I was thinking about current loss and thought what if I tryed to put a plate on each side, Would it also act as a neutral plate or would it cause some kind of freaky current/voltage bypass? :confused:

<a href="http://www.flickr.com/photos/[email protected]/3430039085/" title="Tiefighter cell1 by Odd Todd, on Flickr"><img src="http://farm4.static.flickr.com/3321/3430039085_a681225360.jpg" width="464" height="500" alt="Tiefighter cell1" /></a>

<a href="http://www.flickr.com/photos/[email protected]/3430036255/" title="Tiefighter cell.jpg by Odd Todd, on Flickr"><img src="http://farm4.static.flickr.com/3539/3430036255_c8915e0ca0.jpg" width="498" height="500" alt="Tiefighter cell.jpg" /></a>

I would like any comments? even if you think its stupid. I thought maybe this could keep me from wrapping the cell?:rolleyes:

mytoyotasucks
04-11-2009, 04:31 AM
I was thinking about current loss and thought what if I tryed to put a plate on each side, Would it also act as a neutral plate or would it cause some kind of freaky current/voltage bypass? :confused:

I would like any comments? even if you think its stupid. I thought maybe this could keep me from wrapping the cell?:rolleyes:


not sure if that will work, ur gap might be to large, and dont use copper wire connectors(or aluminum :eek: ) - i use hd nickel plated connectors.

and doesnt look like u preped ur plates.

H2OPWR
04-11-2009, 04:32 AM
I was thinking about current loss and thought what if I tryed to put a plate on each side, Would it also act as a neutral plate or would it cause some kind of freaky current/voltage bypass? :confused:

I would like any comments? even if you think its stupid. I thought maybe this could keep me from wrapping the cell?:rolleyes:

FIRST, DO NOT EVEN CONSIDER ANY IDEA STUPID!!!

Electricity will pass through even the smallest gap. Those side plates will not affect current leakage. Your best bet is to get some gasket material and turn those plates into a dry cell.

Larry

godfish
04-11-2009, 04:14 PM
Electricity will pass through even the smallest gap. Those side plates will not affect current leakage. Your best bet is to get some gasket material and turn those plates into a dry cell.

Larry

I want to do what will work the best, On youtube all I see is people with wet cells so I thought it would be the best to make with these kind of plates? :confused: I'm confused as to how to make a dry cell from wall plates? I see people making dry cells out of very professional looking setups.

Would wall plates make a good dry cell? it seams like in a wet cell more surface area would be exposed to make more HHO?

My plates in the pic are about 1/4" spacing would having them closer make better production?

No I didn't prep the plates surface yet, Wanted to wait till I got feed back on how this looked.

Sorry for all the questions, I just want to make the cell work as best as possible

mytoyotasucks
04-11-2009, 05:50 PM
I want to do what will work the best, On youtube all I see is people with wet cells so I thought it would be the best to make with these kind of plates? :confused: I'm confused as to how to make a dry cell from wall plates? I see people making dry cells out of very professional looking setups.

Would wall plates make a good dry cell? it seams like in a wet cell more surface area would be exposed to make more HHO?

My plates in the pic are about 1/4" spacing would having them closer make better production?

No I didn't prep the plates surface yet, Wanted to wait till I got feed back on how this looked.

Sorry for all the questions, I just want to make the cell work as best as possible

check out Painless experiment in HHO http://www.hhoforums.com/showthread.php?t=771&highlight=painless

mbjhho
05-15-2009, 01:52 PM
I am looking for the best way to wire my in line six pack??? please help
[email protected]:(

Q-Hack!
05-15-2009, 08:34 PM
I am looking for the best way to wire my in line six pack??? please help
[email protected]:(

Not sure what you mean by "in line six pack" Pic?

Is this one of those Water4Gas things?

mbjhho
05-17-2009, 01:28 AM
yes it is the water 4 gas thing.... i am lining up 6 consecutiv e cells in a line i am not sure how to wire it so it works the best.... thx mike

Mulenson
05-17-2009, 01:41 AM
Throw those things out. Do some more homework on this site, and others. build a dry cell. Emphasis on homework! I started this process about 5 months ago, and just getting a system worked out. I'm still referring to this site for answers. Figure if I'm going to do this, I should do it right.