PDA

View Full Version : a simple pos & neg electrode config

Allen
07-15-2008, 11:29 AM
Hi guys. As a newbie I don't know if an idea I have in mind has already been tried. If it has, sorry for the repeat.

I propose a design for the HHO generator that doesn't use Pos and Neg stainless wires helixed around a plexiglass cruciform core that could be degraded by heat. And I don't like the idea of plates closely stacked in a way that might obstruct bubble flow. For the positive and negative HHO generating electrodes my design would have two 7-inch sections of 1/4-inch stainless threaded rod, each mounting a series of stacked stainless fender washers spaced, separated, and locked in place on the posts by stainless nuts. ... The posts would be positioned in the HHO generator in a way where the washers of the pos and neg posts would be at slightly different levels, and close enough to partially overlap without touching each other or the opposite post. ... the idea is to get as much surface area as possible for both pos and neg electrodes, keeping them close yet open enough to allow freedom of the HHO gas bubbles to flow over the disc surfaces where they are generated, and upward, dislodging each other, before escaping through the bubbler outlet.

My design would provide a lot of electrode surface area without the inclusion of any plexiglass parts that might be degraded by heat buildup. The screw-off lid would be a plastic canning jar lid with the electrodes passing through neoprene insulators, partially isolating the plastic lid from the heat of the electrodes. If additional lid top rigidity is needed for the electrode rod mounts, a high temp plastic disk could be inserted in the underside of the lid top before the fitting holes are drilled. The container itself would be glass. Glass is a good insulator. The higher the lid is above the electrolyte the cooler it will remain.