PDA

View Full Version : Best way to determine free amp load?

Painless
07-15-2008, 01:44 PM
I was wondering if any of the vehicle electrics guru's out there could explain what the best way is to determine how much of the alternator load is being used to run and vehicle and how much is 'free' to pump into an HHO system without compromising battery charge?

I certainly think it would be worth making these calculations to make the most of what current is available, but am unsure as to how to calculate it or if I'm on the wrong track and heading down a dangerous road?

Any input appreciated.

Smith03Jetta
07-15-2008, 02:18 PM
I'm no expert but I don't think more electricity can be put into a circuit than is used. It's that pesky Theory of Conservation of Energy at work again. If more electricity is put into a circuit than can be used, something will burn up or circuitry will overheat and electricity will be wasted in the form of heat energy.

Working on that premise, I would theorize that there is NO electricity coming out of the alternator/Generator that is not being used. Once the battery has reached it's charging potential, demand is reduced so the alternator quits making so much electricity.

The job of the Voltage Regulator on a charging system is to regulate the amount coming out of the alternator/generator so that too much electricity is not put into the circuit.

Now... If you introduce a new electrical device such as a Hydrogen on Demand system, the demand for electricity increases. The voltage regulator/alternator/generator system will request more electricity to be produced. The magnetism will be increased on the alternator to create more electricity. The increased alternator demand will reduce available engine power a little bit. Based on my studies, the miles per gallon will be reduced .4 mpg for every 10 amps extra needed.