PDA

View Full Version : pwm or potentiometer

nikolatesla2
06-14-2009, 02:55 PM
hi and hello
i just heard about hho cells 2 days ago
i am very excited about hho power and what it can do for me
i just graduated from a tech school where i studied applied electrical technology
in class a pwm was another name for a type of adjustable frequency motor drive
as in alternating current
why does one need a dc pwm when a pot switch does exactly that?
no frequency modulation in dc bro
where am i confused here?

mytoyotasucks
06-15-2009, 01:24 AM
hi and hello
i just heard about hho cells 2 days ago
i am very excited about hho power and what it can do for me
i just graduated from a tech school where i studied applied electrical technology
in class a pwm was another name for a type of adjustable frequency motor drive
as in alternating current
why does one need a dc pwm when a pot switch does exactly that?
no frequency modulation in dc bro
where am i confused here?

a pot switch cannot handle high amps, even most military grade post can only handle 3 - 6 amps.

and a simple PWM does not work like peps say.

nikolatesla2
06-15-2009, 11:51 PM
of course, 20 to 30 amps is not a small amount of current
my first concern with that much current flow would be a proper switch
30 amps continuous should receive parts rated at 45 amps
at least that's the way im going to approach it
cheers!

HHO BLASTER
06-16-2009, 12:46 AM
of course, 20 to 30 amps is not a small amount of current
my first concern with that much current flow would be a proper switch
30 amps continuous should receive parts rated at 45 amps
at least that's the way im going to approach it
cheers!

Is this for testing in the engine or on a work bench?

nikolatesla2
06-16-2009, 10:21 PM
safety first, bro!
20 amps dc will kill you quick
if your wire is warm to the touch it is too small
kinda not on the pwm subject but there it is
copper aint cheap is it?

bercelio
10-14-2009, 07:39 AM