PDA

View Full Version : not making hho

vette84
07-19-2008, 11:51 PM
Hi everyone I am new at this i have build my first hho fuel cell. I am making bubbles but don't seem to be making any gas my plates are pretty thick. I am using about a 1/2 gal. of water and a bout 2 1/2 to 3 tsps of baking soda. It's in a piece of 4 inch pvc pipe about 10 inches tall. my plates are +nnnn-nnnn+ any help would really be nice do i need more baking soda by the way the water is destiled water. I hooked it up to a car battery I have in my shop. The ss plates are about an 1/8 inch thick.

oicu812
07-20-2008, 12:23 AM
baking soda is makes a poor electrolyte. I use naoh , its also called lye. you must be carefull with it. use gloves and safety glasses. one drop in the eye and your blind in that eye. that being said it can be handeled safely. I use 2 teaspoons in a inline house filter. i'm getting about 1 litre a minute at startup at 10 amps and almost 2 litres after about 45 minutes running at 20 amps. temperature levels off at around 160 degrees. its 6 plates 2 inches by 5 inches in a +NNNN- configuration. 1/4 inch tube goes to a bubbler than a check valve than a flash arrestor and finally my torch tip. it produces a 1 inch flame that melts gold and silver pretty quick. I can put a hole in a penny in about 5 seconds. thin steel wire gets white hot and melts instantly. I have a tough time with thick steel because of the fine tipped torch, it seams to lay down a fine coating of water on the work surface. its the hydrogen and oxegen reforming back to water as it burns. I plan on banking 4 generators together and see if I can get a four inch flame and higher pressure at the torch tip to blast through steel plate.the flame is bluish at the torch tip and then almost clear 1/2 inch out.

dennis13030
07-20-2008, 01:35 AM
vette84,

How many Amps is it drawing?

EltonBrandd
07-20-2008, 02:40 AM