PDA

View Full Version : just installed a hho generator and i have some concerns

humbug
07-22-2008, 06:05 AM
this is my first time ever posting a thread on any forum.
i love this forum its full of people that are experimenter and are not afraid to try something new, so any help with my question will be greatly appreciated.

i installed a hho generator on a 2000 exterra and the moment i turned on the car i noticed it ran alot smoother and i am getting better mpg's which im really happy about but my check engine light turned on. i went to autozone and i retreaved 10 codes mostly form the map and 02 sensor. i wanted to know if anyone elses car has set off the check engine light from just installing a hho generator? should i worry about this? :confused:

Stratous
07-22-2008, 07:02 AM
I have heard of others that have recieved codes. From the way I understand it, once the ecu recieves a code, it reverts to a default setting. I would think as long as your still seeing better MPG then it should be ok. I am no expert on this though, but there are a few auto mechanics on this thread.

Hydroginist
07-22-2008, 07:12 AM
Humbug

Check this guy out on Utube (http://www.hhoforever.com

They have a small computer that adjusts your sensors.

Not cheep but in the long run worth it.

Good Luck and Work Safe

scottyhho
07-22-2008, 09:56 PM
do you think that if you extend out your O2 sensors, that might help with the ck engine light??

EltonBrandd
07-22-2008, 10:07 PM
do you think that if you extend out your O2 sensors, that might help with the ck engine light??

The O2 sensor extenders wont help with light once it comes on. It may fool the sensor by moving it far enough out of the exhaust stream. Once the code goes from "hard" (meaning that it is currently malfunctioning) the engine will run properly. You can buy a fairly cheap scan tool that can read and erase codes, it will come with an instruction booklet with all the federal code descriptions as well.

scottyhho