PDA

View Full Version : New Guy

lathamjames
03-02-2010, 12:32 AM
Hi ive been considring building a bath unit for my jeep grand for a couple days now and i was hoping i could gain a little insight first. Just a heads up im not a electrician or a mechanic thats why im asking. Ive done alot of thinking and my best idea so far is to build a case with several sealed sections in it each containing a positive and negitive. 3mm spaceing right? I have the notion of bending the plates around one another to create a multi surface or multi plate effect. I thought it would be best to share plates between sections it you know what i mean,- /+\ /-\ /+\ /-\ /+\-. Would it be best to share the neg or pos between two cells? I found cheap solar cells here http://www.goldmine-elec-products.com/prodinfo.asp?number=G17277 are they fiesable so you woudnt have to worry about the power drain from the alternator? Realisticly what can i expect from this? Will i gain HP or Torque? If i did maybe 6 cells and connected them in series that should give me around 2 volts per cell being about right, right?

Owen_
03-02-2010, 02:35 PM
welcome,
First off, have very low expectations, and plan on doing a lot of work, and spending a lot of money (the work to money ratio is somewhat up to you).

The most important thing to think of when designing a cell is voltage. H2O will split at 1.23V but you will need a little more to compensate for resistence in other part of the cell (electrodes, wires ext) most people aim for 1.8-2V.
If your using the alternator which puts out around 14V you'll need to have multiple cells in series so that the voltage across each cell is with in reason (ex; 7 identical cells connected running at 14V will have a voltage drop of 2V across each) Most people use neutral plates, that are not connected to + or -, in between there pos and neg plates |+| |N| |N| |-| each gap works as a cell so that the voltage in this case is divided by 3.