PDA

View Full Version : My first cell!..

gmcain09
05-12-2010, 12:00 PM
Hey guys, im completely new to this so try to keep in mind im still a newbie at this :-) I am thinking about having an 8 plate cell, what would you guys recommend for my plate configuation?? Oh and also (kind of embarrassed to ask) what is a wet and a dry cell??
Thanks!!

lhazleton
05-12-2010, 02:39 PM
You'll need to do lots of research before getting into this. A 'wet cell' reactor is where the plates are submerged in an open bath container of electrolyte. These will work, but are very inefficient. A 'dry cell' reactor is a series of plates that contain the electrolyte within the cells. No mason jars or any of that crapola.
As far as 8 plates, I'm assuming that's what you have. What size are they?
The only thing you would probably be able to build would be: Use 7 of them as follows - 1 anode, 1 cathode and 5 bi-polar plates (-NNNNN+). This will make a 6 cell reactor. You could go with 7 cells, 8 plates (-NNNNNN+), but I wouldn't recommend this until you know more about what you're doing.
Without more details, it's impossible to help.
Good luck & keep us posted!
Lee

gmcain09
05-16-2010, 07:03 PM
Thank you very much lhazleton! I definitely will be doing my research, and I will keep you guys updated on the cell. I decided to go with a wet cell for my first project just to get a feel for it, and after I get some experience I will migrate towards dry cells...
Thanks!
Mike

Drafty-01
05-17-2010, 06:04 AM
Hi Mike,

I find it really pays to read up quite a bit a do "research" that way.

Initially, I was going to make a system like a smack cell, as they're pretty simple, but then thought about the efficiency increase with a dry cell. It's probably not a lot more complex to make, and can be expanded on as well if you find that it's not big enough.