PDA

View Full Version : Electrolysis HELP!!!!!

ggipson79
08-04-2008, 08:24 PM
Folks,
I am a newbie here so please help me out. I went to Lowes and bought 4 SS wall-plates, SS nuts & wahsers (just for testing). I first spaced them with high-temp plastic washers (needless to say they werent very high-temp) and it burnt the rubber. I then took it all back apart and placed nuts between each wall-plate to space it. I then placed it back in the water with my jumper cables hooked up and about 2 tsp. of baking soda. It got so darn hot it lit up my jumper cables and it barely bubbled. It seemed that my jumper cables were a little on the hot side. What did I do wrong? Does it get this hot when you are actually in your production environment (I certainly hope not)?

PLEASE HELP!!!!!!!!!!

kajreklaw
08-04-2008, 09:28 PM
Folks,
I am a newbie here so please help me out. I went to Lowes and bought 4 SS wall-plates, SS nuts & wahsers (just for testing). I first spaced them with high-temp plastic washers (needless to say they werent very high-temp) and it burnt the rubber. I then took it all back apart and placed nuts between each wall-plate to space it. I then placed it back in the water with my jumper cables hooked up and about 2 tsp. of baking soda. It got so darn hot it lit up my jumper cables and it barely bubbled. It seemed that my jumper cables were a little on the hot side. What did I do wrong? Does it get this hot when you are actually in your production environment (I certainly hope not)?

PLEASE HELP!!!!!!!!!!

when you reconfigured it did you use SS nuts?? if you did, then you shorted it out. like putting the pos & neg wires together..

dennyk159
08-04-2008, 09:32 PM