Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: ** DO NOT USE ** McMaster Carr Check Valve 47245K37

** DO NOT USE ** McMaster Carr Check Valve 47245K37

I've been recommending this check valve, part number 47245K37 from McMasterCarr, as I have been using it for quite a few months now without problems. The website describes it as follows:

" PVDF Body with Viton Diaphragm— For external applications requiring superior chemical and abrasion resistance. Temp. range is -70° to +250° F"

Well, this morning this check valve failed and my reservoir sucked vinegar from the cleansing bubbler back into itself. As you can imagine, the acid in the vinegar combined well with the base KOH solution.

Apologies to all that I have recommended this valve to that have used it, it was fine for me for many months until now.
    2006 Dodge Ram 4.7L - 16.5 mpg stock
    My thread Painless Experiment in HHO

has anyone found a solid reliable check valve?
    1982 MB 300D Turbo Diesel 90%WVO/10%RUG + additives blend. $.50/gal
    don't know what MPG is, probly low 20s

Why not just use two check valves inline with each other. Then you can periodically pull them off and check them to ensure they still provide protection. I know you shouldn't have to do that but any product can fail at any time.

HHOinKY Guest
    Just ordered one last night....damn.

I've been thinking this through whilst flushing and refilling my system this morning, the one thing that has changed yesterday is that the strenght of my electrolyte has gone up considerably. Perhaps this is what caused it to fail?

Instead of a check between the gen and the bubbler, I think a safer idea would be to use a solenoid valve attached to a breather hose on the gen. The valve should be normally open but closed when current is supplied.

HHOinKY Guest
    Did the KOH eat the valve some maybe?

Jaxom Guest