Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Baking soda

Captain Charlie Guest

Baking soda

I have just finished reading most of the posts which is the best electrolite.
    The two kost talked about, NaOH and KOH seem to have their own side effects. Baking soda is easy to get, but there is mention of it producing undesirable gas. Several gases were mentioned by different people.

If that is so, where are these gases going to be to present a danger? Mine would be going into the engine with the HHO. I don't plan on standing at my work bench to breath whats coming out of the jar. I'm very new at this and may be niave so help me out here. I'd rather be safe than sorry.

Thanks,

Charlie

Quote Originally Posted by Captain Charlie View Post
    I have just finished reading most of the posts which is the best electrolite.
    The two kost talked about, NaOH and KOH seem to have their own side effects. Baking soda is easy to get, but there is mention of it producing undesirable gas. Several gases were mentioned by different people.

If that is so, where are these gases going to be to present a danger? Mine would be going into the engine with the HHO. I don't plan on standing at my work bench to breath whats coming out of the jar. I'm very new at this and may be niave so help me out here. I'd rather be safe than sorry.

Thanks,

Charlie
    i believe baking soda makes clorine gas
    Come to the Darkside - We have Cookies
    And lots of KOH (16 LBS)

Not currently running HHO.
    I dont run HHO during winter.

Quote Originally Posted by mytoyotasucks View Post
    i believe baking soda makes clorine gas
    Err... no it doesn't.

Baking soda is NaHCO3 there is no Cl in that molecule.

When you mix NaHCO3 with 2(H20) and applied to the electrolysis process you get CO2 + NaOH + 2(H2) + O2 or Carbon Dioxide and Sodium Hydroxide along with HHO. The CO2 and HHO leave the chamber together; the NaOH recombines with the water.

So, no it doesn't make Chlorine gas, it makes Carbon Dioxide.