Thread: HHO and steam power

FitnessJunky Guest

Smile HHO and steam power

Hi, I’m new to the idea of HHO but I’ve been working on the idea of a rotary air or steam engine. Having stumbled across HHO I’m intrigued by the idea of burning HHO to super heat water and produce steam to drive a motor. Just wondered if anyone has experimented with HHO driven steam power?

Sounds interesting... The question in my mind is:

What is your final application? Using electricity to create HHO-burn HHO-boil water-use steam to drive motor, will be filled with so many losses that you will be better suited to just use an electric motor. If however you are trying to develop a Rupe Goldburg contraption to impress the kids, then sure, go for it.
    --
    Some days I get the sinking feeling that Orwell was an optimist!

bigjim56 Guest
    I was in the Navy 1975-1979 where we ran 1200 psi boilers for steam generation for both ship propulsion and launching aircraft (aircraft carrier). I've since revisited Norfolk Navy Base a few times and all of the smaller boiler propelled ships are now turbine driven.
    Boilers still in operation are supplied heatwise by nuclear reactors. What you propose is highly unlikely because of the costs and technology. Turbines that are steam driven are very expensive because of the materials and the close tolerances involved. I think it would be much easier to seperate the HHO and burn the H, while expelling or suppressing the O thru sensors. Just my 2 cents.

bigjim56

FitnessJunky Guest