Thread: Shrink wrap and plastic plates

dougie175 Guest

Shrink wrap and plastic plates

I notice some plate assemblys are fully covered with shrink wrap, and others have a plastic plate either side. Which of these designs is better?

Sorry if this question has been answered many times Im very new to the hydrogen game and just trying to make the best setup possible first time.

Thanks

Quote Originally Posted by dougie175 View Post
    I notice some plate assemblys are fully covered with shrink wrap, and others have a plastic plate either side. Which of these designs is better?

Sorry if this question has been answered many times Im very new to the hydrogen game and just trying to make the best setup possible first time.

Thanks
    As long as the electrical current is blocked on the edges, it doesn't really matter.
    --
    Some days I get the sinking feeling that Orwell was an optimist!

Just speaking from my experience... I have a wet cell Gas4Free design. (don't waste your money on the e-book). After a couple of tanks of gas I disassembled it and shrink wrapped the electrode assembly with rc model airplane wing covering. The first thing I noticed was that the amps dropped by half, 15 amps to around 7. Consequently, gas production dropped as well. I bumped the current up back to 15 and observed massive foam production. So much foam that it was going through my bubbler and into the intake hose. Since I have no interest in having my engine ingest NaOH, I disabled the system and am building a dry cell.

The main difference between a wet and dry cell is: The electrode assembly is submerged in a wet cell requiring the electrode assembly to be wrapped to minimize current loss. In a dry cell the electrodes are sandwiched between two endplates with gaskets in between each plate. The electrolyte is encapsulated between the plates and gaskets. Since there is no electrolyte at the plate edges, there is no current loss there.
    Red Rat

Gary Diamond Guest