Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Suitable mulitimeters

Suitable mulitimeters

Whilst visiting Home Depot / Lowes etc for other bits and pieces, I've also been looking around for a multimeter that I can use to reliably monitor the DC current amps etc on my unit, once it is built and in the testing phase, however, the best ones I can find only seem to go to a maximum current of 10 amps DC. I'm hoping to find a multimeter that will measure up to 30 odd amps, but won't break the bank.

Can any of the electronics guru's recommend a source?

dennis13030 Guest
    Hi,

My name is Dennis and I am an electronics engineer. The low cost and high current way to go is this;

1. Buy a cheap digital multimeter(the max current rating is NOT important). Believe me on this.
    2. Buy a current sensing resistor. See this link. It is a 0.005 Ohm, 7 Watt resistor and it's real cheap($4.16).
    http://www.mouser.com/Search/Product...KYZDPMxg%3d%3d
    3. Put this resistor inline with the +12V against the electrolyzer.
    4. Use the voltmeter to read the voltage across the sense resistor. Whatever value is displayed, multiple it by 200 for the true current value. This calculation is due to the resistor being 0.005 Ohms.

This gets your cheap DMM an effective maximum current measurement of about 37 Amps.

Cool! That's an interesting idea.

I've been thinking about it and I will be wanting to install some kind of amp gauge in the inside the vehicle, once the installation is complete, so I might just go ahead and buy a suitable in-vehicle gauge and use that whilst testing instead. Would save money in the long run.

Omega Guest
    Wow dennis, you are one smart cookie!!

BAD MEDICINE Guest
    Id say my biggest weakness in this venture is understanding/measuring the data. Makes me wish I would have made more of an effort to learn it in school.