Thread: Hho & o2/eci

Hho & o2/eci

Okay, I'm a newbie. I just bought a Greensource Pro 10 kit to install on my 2009 Hyundai Elantra Touring with a 2.0L engine. I already get 25/34 mpg, but would like better mileage and fewer emissions. My concern is the ECI and the possibility of getting no increase or even worse mpg after running the HHO and the O2 sensor telling the ECI to make the fuel mixture richer. I have been told that one way to overcome this issue is the pull the fuse for the ECI for an hour to reset it before running the HHO, then repeating this every 3 months for about a year. Then the ECI would accept the HHO addition and not try to adjust the fuel mixture. Or, do I need a DEMSE/EFIE chip? Do I need to worry about any of this with this engine? Thanks for your feedback!

Barry,
    Pulling the fuse won't do anything except reset the ECU. It will read the additional oxygen & will increase the fuel pulses due to the stored maps in the computer. You'll need a digital EFIE to overcome this. First, you need to determine what style O2 sensor's you have: are they narrowband or wideband, and does the post cat sensor assist in determining the A/F/R or not.
    I don't know anything about the kit you bought, but you only need a reactor that puts out 1LPM with a draw OF 12 amps..
    Good luck with it & keep us posted. I have a 2004 Kia Cinco with a 1.6L that I want to do an installation on whenever I get a new engine for it. Similar in many ways, I may be able to learn something from install.
    1998 Explorer 4x4, 4.0
    14 cell / 2 stack 6x9" drycell reactor 28%KOH dual EFIE, MAF enhancer, IAT & ECT controllers, 2.4 LPM @ 30 amps. 6.35 MMW http://reduceyourfuelbill.com.au/forum/index.php

Quote Originally Posted by lhazleton View Post
    Barry,