Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: 2001 Toyota Tundra 4.7L

2001 Toyota Tundra 4.7L

I,m wanting to get started. I'm an instrumentation tech at a chemical plant,
    so I should be able to build a generator. I haven't found many success stories with the 4.7L Toyota and EFIE seems to be a problem. If you have been there done that please share some of your experience please. I like to learn from other peoples mistake and get it right the first time.
    Thanks, Doug

Quote Originally Posted by 01 Tundra Man View Post
    so I should be able to build a generator. I haven't found many success stories with the 4.7L Toyota and EFIE seems to be a problem. If you have been there done that please share some of your experience please. I like to learn from other peoples mistake and get it right the first time.
    Thanks, Doug
    Then you've come to the right place to get started.

Welcome to the forum!

Quote Originally Posted by 01 Tundra Man View Post
    Thanks, Doug
    I'm in deep right now with a 2001 Toyota Highlander V6 3.0. I would guess that we have similar A/F sensor/ECU setups.
    I'm still trying to get the Volo to produce some results. I will keep you posted. It's looking more and more like I will have to run an EFIE and Map/Maf adjustment. I was hoping to avoid this.
    I'm getting great production with my dry cell and pulse width modulator at 15 amps. I bought the dry cell already assembled: 4 neutral plates when I should probably have 5. Also has 3/16" gaskets when 1/8" seems to be the favored thickness.
    Cell doesn't get more than slightly warm, so haven't added the extra neutral plates.
    Using KOH at low concentration.
    Will update you when I get it ironed out. It's been a long road. Best to learn from other's mistakes I've found...