Thread: Current source from heat e.g. Thermocouple

Current source from heat e.g. Thermocouple

New to the HHO concept, I've been reading and wanted to suggest a form of power available. An automotive exhaust 350 watt power generator is due to be finished this year. At 12 volts that's in the range of 30 amps if my brain is working today. A company called TEG is using something similar to the thermocouple Seebeck effect and working on this device which is supposed to be available this year.

I'm curious if HHO will cool the exhaust temp in any way?

Again I'm new to this but have a lot of years earning a living as an automotive mechanic before changing careers to designing PLC based control systems. Recently studying thermocouple design made the light bulb go off in my head and reason for this question.

rayce interesting stuff. There is a member doing work in this area. He actually has a hho gen running from the electricity generated by the TEG. Last I heard he was working on something even more complex than his last project.
    Would love to hear more.

-Absolutely, definitely want to hear more about this- probably out of my price range though...
    [SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

I'm just curious if HHO will burn cooler and reduce the heat content needed to generate the electricity.

This is not new technology, just a different application of existing technology. To construct a series of thermocouples with heavy gauge wire and use them to produce electricity. The device is called a thermopile. It is necessary to alternate hot and cold temperatures to each junction. A new metal alloy has been developed specifically for this but not to say current materials won't work.

The beauty of this is it can be applied to existing combustion devices from the automotive industry to the power industry and everything in between. I keep looking for "the catch" so to speak but have not found anything negative.