Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: How about Nickel Iron Batteries

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post
    JojoJaro Guest

How about Nickel Iron Batteries

Folks, Noob here. Only started researching HHO injection 4 days ago. Been reading most of the post and responses here.

While researching batteries for my solar project, I came across Nickel Iron batteries.

http://www.beutilityfree.com/nife.html

Then an Idea hit me. Why can't we take this NiFe battery, empty the electrolyte, clean the insides up, put our own electrolyte, fabricate some ports for collecting the HHO and voila, we should have an HHO generator already built for us, including the clear case which is helpful in seeing the gas production.

The anode is iron. The cathode is nickel-oxide-hydroxide. Does this have the correct electode type and chemistry.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Nickel-iron_battery

Note that one of the bad things about this battery when used as a battery is excessive gassing (hydrogen gas) when being charged. Looks like it is already an electrolyzer in disguise.

What do you guys think?

HomeGrown Guest
    Would probably work great.... briefly. Haven't you noticed that about 98% of the HHO cells that people build use stainless steel electrodes? The case would be beautiful, IF it could withstand the high temps of the cell (typically way more than a battery will ever see).

Welcome to the forum, stick around and see what we're doing!

c02cutter Guest