Thread: Science Fair Help?

Talking Science Fair Help?

I'm new to HHO generators and i'm thinking of making a generator for my high school science fair project. I need to make a separator cell but i'm not sure if basing my design off this diagram design would work(Below).

Would this generator design work if I connect 6 electrode plates to the anode and another 6 to the cathode?(I'm planning to use either aluminium or stainless steel)

Yes, but don't use salt (NaCl) please as it will release chlorine gas. You need to use a catalyst such as these:

1. Potassium Hydroxide (KOH)
    2. Sodium Hydroxide (NaOH)

If you want a non-caustic solution, then use Sodium Sulfate (Na2SO4) instead. One more note, you should use 304L or the more preferred 316L stainless steel. Finally, you will not have 100% pure Hydrogen and 100% pure Oxygen on each side respectively, so just keep that in mind as according to your illustration there is not a proton exchange membrane (PEM) separating the two sides. This means that the gases will mix a bit depending on volume generated and water turbulence.

Neutral Plates

Thanks for the reply. Can you tell me where I should put the neutral plates in this design:
    Oh and does anyone know if neutral plates produce gas?

No neutral plates in that design. Yes they produce gas.

And a lot of heat unless you limit it to 2 volts.
    "Democracy is two wolves and a lamb deciding what to have for dinner. Liberty is a well-armed lamb."

ONE Liter per minute per 10 amps which just isn't possible Ha Ha .

Quote Originally Posted by myoldyourgold View Post
    And a lot of heat unless you limit it to 2 volts.
    Answered based on the design presented. I don't think (from the information presented) that he/she wants to build what we know to be a "reactor". This has all the appearance of a straight brute force 12V system to me.