Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: New in SE Mich - Questions

wydopnthrtl Guest

New in SE Mich - Questions

Hello all, Got some newb Qs here..

I'm a OEM automotive engineer by trade and more importantly I'm a true blue gear head. Have been since I was able to drag my knuckles at age 3. (Build my own engines, am into high perf cars, e-tuning and such)

Ok I've been reading as much as I can about this subject for about two weeks now and am pretty close to giving it a try. But I have some questions that hopefully folks here can answer before I take the first step.

Please comment as you can!

1) A/F ratio and EGTs.
    I'm not convinced that using HHO is doing much more than leaning out the a/f ratio. Has anyone used a wideband sensor or measured EGTs? Anybody pulled a spark plug to see it's color and residue?

There is an awful lot of assumptions taking place on what the PCM is doing with fuel. Has nobody ever actually measured thier EGT? (exhaust gas temp)

2a) I don't understand the relationship & safety of producing a steady amount of HHO but yet the engine has differing needs. High rpm, high load, idle, ect.. Seems to me that producing enough HHO to really make a difference would have a dangerous amount being produced at extended idle situations. I suppose pressures (vacuum) would draw 100% once rpms come up. But what about extended idling??

2b) If HHO was by it'self more combustible I'd think you'd see the idle speed rise when plumbed into the intake post TB. (throttle body) Doing it this way is no different than injecting a smal amount of fuel and nitrous. (of which I have great engineering & practical knowldge) If I were to inject 10hp worth of N/F post TB the rpms would rise enough that the IAC valve wouldn't be able to compensate for. But the rpms would only go up about 500-100 So.. Why does putting hydrogen and oxygen into the intake (post TB) not do the same thing?